Adobe Photoshop Lightroom, Digital Photography Workflow

Converting to DNG in Lightroom

A recent question from a colleague:
I want to convert all the photos in my Lightroom catalog to DNG.  Should I check
the "delete originals after successful conversion" box?

My answer:
I delete all the original camera raw files after conversion to DNG but not everyone has so much confidence in DNG vs. native camera raw.

The way I see it, DNG stands as good (or better) chance of being supported years in the future than do the native raw files. But this remains to be seen.

I don’t see a need to retain the original camera files after conversion.

If you have any concern whatsoever about this, archive the original raw files before deleting them from your master library.

(You also have the option to store the original raw file within the DNG, effectively doubling its size.)

Adobe has more info about all this at
http://www.adobe.com/products/dng/index.html

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Get Photography tips, techniques and
tutorials FREE to your inbox

We value your privacy and will never share your details with anyone.

Almost there... Check your inbox to confirm.